Saying Goodbye…

This is it. May 10th 2017. My last day of high school. Some of the best years of my life, and a lot of it I took for granted. Life moves pretty fast, and if you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it. Leaving high school is bittersweet, it’s hard to see everyone I’ve ever known go their separate ways, but at the same time, I’ve been waiting for this day my entire life. I’m not gonna say high school has been good to me, I’ve definitely had my ups and downs, but one of the most important thing I’ve learned is that no matter what, life will go on. With or without you. It’s up to us to keep up, and it’s ok sometimes to fall behind every now and then, it happens to everyone. 

For me, a large portion of my time was wasted, on meaningless things. I don’t have many regrets, but one of them was not spending enough time with my closest friends. It wasn’t until the end of this year that I made an effort to bring people together through the 2 HOURS LOST podcast. Before that, I had no idea where I wanted to go. I feel like it’s my fault for not understanding exactly what I wanted, and right now, I’m still not entirely sure. But what I do know is that I have everything to look forward to. I have my while life ahead of me, and I’m ready to go. And I know that I can get to where I want to be because I have a pretty good understanding of what I want. I just want to make things. Videos, music, art in every form. And I feel like the only reason why I haven’t made anything worth my time is because I’ve been too scared to start. 

I’ve always been into filmmaking and music, but something that’s held me back is that I don’t want people to judge me, either for any talent I might have, or the lack of it. Putting yourself out there is terrifying, but now I know it’s a necessary evil. Today marks the first day of the rest of my life, and I know now that I really have to start living for everyday. And I know people say that, people who are already in a position to say that. They have it all, and are standing on top of their self made empires, telling everyone to life life to the fullest. But how can we do that if our cups aren’t filled?

I feel like all those gurus and motivational speakers are skipping over one crucial step in the process – how to fill your cup. It’s different for everyone, and everyone won’t know how to fill their own. But something that I’ve learned is that you have to take the time to understand and accept yourself in your entirety, and then and only then, will you know how to fill your cup.

By the time I’ve filled my cup, I will have made a name for the 2 Hours Lost podcast, my vlog that I’m starting later this week, my music career, and hopefully this blog. And filling your cup lays the foundation for building your empire. 

I’m not gonna act like I know how to build an empire, all I know is how to fill my cup. And I think that’s a good first step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

