What is the end goal?

Everyone has a dream. But not everyone achieves it. That’s the reality of the situation, isn’t it? Then why do I feel so special? Why does everyone feel so special?

The end goal, for me, is a life where I can escape to any destination, or return to one of my many homes on the beach. I can see it clearly, A mountain and waterfall to the left, and the beach on the right. My house, my little stake of land, right in the middle. But how exactly am I going to get there?

I have this dream. I’ve been holding on to it for a while, but I’ve only just started acting on it 5 days ago. I want to be able to get to where I need to be, on a little house in the sand, by the time I graduate college. Seem far fetched? Seem cliche? Yes and yes. But I’m not stopping until I’ve done everything that I need to do in order to get there.

I recently spoke with my grandfather, about whether or not I wanted to pursue college level debate. I had seen exhibitions of college level debate, and in comparison to the high school level, it didn’t seem like the right fit.

High school debate was fast paced, based on evidence, the reality of the situation.

College level debate is based more heavily on rhetoric, with little use of actual evidence to support claims – a politician’s training ground.

The reason why I didn’t want to join college level debate was because it seems like an activity that hampers integrity. But after this discussion with my grandfather, he gave me a different perspective. He told me that if he were back in college, he would have made the same decision. He said that something he didn’t realize until he was much older was that people are morally flexible.

It’s ok to bend the rules a little bit, if you aren’t hurting anyone in the process, no harm no foul, right?

I’ve wanted to be a lawyer and or politician for a little while now, and knowing this, my grandfather also told me that lying to a group of people is ok, only when you want to tell the truth. What he meant was that if the ends justify the means, in this case, telling the truth about a subject, then take any means necessary in order to get the job done, even if that means bending your integrity. Lie to tell the truth.

Because the truth is – you can’t tell a biased population a truth that goes against their beliefs, there is something called “cognitive dissonance,” which means that thee people will completely ignore any opposing facts, no matter how truthful they are. If something goes against their beliefs, they don’t believe it. That’s why, in order to be successful in this field, he said, you need to be able to play into the pre-existing beliefs of a population to achieve the desired results.

This was just a neat thought, and having this in the back of my mind will definitely change how I approach certain things.

And don’t worry, I won’t be breaking bad anytime soon.

See you in the next one.

Leave a Reply

